Rugby 7s Betting & Odds

Rugby 7s Betting

Fancy some magnificent Sevens? The 2016-17 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series takes place across 10 destinations around the world, and the first stop in the season is sunny Dubai, where the action gets underway between the 2nd and 3rd of December.

Between then and May, the action will visit Cape Town, Wellington, Sydney, Las Vegas, Vancouver, Hong Kong, Singapore, Paris and finally London, with England’s capital hosting the climax of the World Series between the 20th and 21st of May.

Fiji are reigning champions – and the South Pacific island nation are fast becoming the superstars of Rugby 7s, having also taken gold at the Olympics over the summer.  But will the Fijians be able to retain their World Rugby Sevens crown?

Whether you’re expecting the side to continue to dominate, or you’re banking on another side breaking through, there’s plenty of competition. Sides like South Africa, New Zealand, Australia, Argentina and England all have a chance – but there are also more leftfield challengers including the US, Kenya and even Brazil.

If you’re new to Rugby Sevens, it’s basically like a concentrated hit of the standard rugby union fare you’re familiar with; as the name implies, each team fields seven players, and the action takes place across two seven minute halves. It’s hardly a new concept, however; the first Rugby Sevens event was held back in Scotland in the 1880s, and is still played every year.